AGROMET : a web-based weather platform for agricultural decision support systems

agromet1

A web-based weather platform for real-time agro-meteorological data dissemination at high spatial (1km²) and temporal (hourly and daily) resolution

Context

For a sustainable agriculture …

European union directive 2009/128/CE imposes member-states to set up tools that allow for a more rational use of pesticides. Among these tools, agricultural decision support systems, based on crop monitoring models for the control of pests and diseases are widely adopted and have proved their efficiency. However, due to the difficulty to get meteorological data at high spatial resolution (at the parcel scale), they still are underused.

… thanks to precision meteorology.

The use of geo-statistical algorithms (Kriging, Multiple Regressions, etc.) makes possible to interpolate data provided by physical weather stations in such a way that a high spatial resolution network (mesh size of 1 km⊃2;) of virtual weather stations could be generated.

 

Objective

An operational web-based weather platform …

The project aims to set up an operational web-based platform designed for real-time agro-meteorological data dissemination at high spatial (1km⊃2;) and temporal (hourly and daily) resolution. Following parameters will be available :

  • air temperature at 1,5 m above the ground
  • relative humidity at 1,5 m above the ground
  • leaf wetness
  • rainfall

To achieve the availability of data at such a high spatial resolution, we plan to “spatialize” the real-time data sent by more than 30 connected physical weather stations belonging to the PAMESEB and RMI networks. This spatialization will then result in a gridded dataset corresponding to a network of 16 000 virtual stations uniformly spread on the whole territory of Wallonia.

… to control pests and crop diseases.

These “spatialized” data will be made available through a web-platform providing interactive visualization widgets (maps, charts, tables and various indicators) and an API (for Application Programming Interface: a software that allows two applications to talk to each other) allowing their use on the fly, notably by agricultural decision support systems providers. An extensive and precise documentation about data origin, geo-statistic algorithms used and uncertainty will also be available.

The following figure shows a first draft of the functional architecture of the platform: 

 

 

Expected results

An operationnal web-based platform for real-time agrometeorological data dissemination.

Two operational decision support systems implemented on the platform

First results

  • Research and development : first functionnal version of spatialization methodology for hourly air temperature data based on a multilinear regression algorithm.
  • IT : operationnal IT infrastructure based on open source softwares like Linux, Django, Python and PostgreSQL.
  • 2 operationnal decision support systems : CéciBlé(monitoring of wheat midge (Sitodiplosis mosellana) and PhénoBlé (monitoring of wheat phenology)
  • Web site under development.

Partners

  • Royal Meteorological Institute : Christian Tricot, Michel Journée
  • Gembloux Agro-bio Tech : Benjamin Dumont
  • UCLouvain : Patrick Bogaert
  • PCA : Pieter Vanhaverbeke

Funding

  • CRA-W – Moerman law

Team

Share this article

AGROMET - la plateforme météo des OAD agricoles

agromet

Une plateforme web agromet opérationnelle destinée à la diffusion en temps réel de données agro-météorologiques à haute résolution spatiale (1km²) et temporelle (horaire et journalière)

Vers une agriculture plus durable …

La directive européenne 2009/128/CE impose aux états-membres de mettre en place des outils visant à une utilisation raisonnée des produits phytosanitaires. Parmi ces outils, les systèmes d'avertissements agricoles, basés sur des modèles de suivi des maladies ou des ravageurs sont très largement utilisés et ont déjà fait preuve de leur efficacité. Cependant, ils sont encore sous-exploités du fait de la difficulté de disposer d'une information météorologique à haute résolution spatiale à l'échelle de la parcelle.

… grâce à la météorologie de précision.

Par l’utilisation d’algorithmes de traitement statistiques (krigeage, régressions multiples, etc.), il est possible d’interpoler les données de stations météorologiques physiques afin de créer un réseau de stations virtuelles permettant de disposer de données à très haute résolution (de l'ordre du km²). C'est précisément ce que vise le projet AGROMET.

Une plateforme météorologique opérationnelle …

Mettre en place un outil opérationnel dédié à la diffusion de données agro-météorologiques d'observation et prévision à haute résolution spatiale (1km²) et temporelle (horaire et journalière). Les paramètres spatialisés seront les suivants :

  • la température de l’air à 1,5m au-dessus du sol
  • l’humidité de l’air à 1,5m au-dessus du sol
  • l’humectation du feuillage
  • la pluviométrie.

Ces données seront issues d’un réseau de 16 000 stations virtuelles réparties uniformément sur toute la Wallonie, générées par interpolation spatiale (« spatialisation ») des données envoyées en temps réel par plus de 30 stations météorologiques physiques appartenant aux réseaux PAMESEB et IRM.

… pour lutter contre les maladies et les ravageurs des cultures.

L’outil vise à rendre ces données spatialisées accessibles au travers d’une plateforme web offrant des modules de visualisation interactifs (cartes, graphiques, tableaux et indicateurs variés) mais également au travers d’une API (pour Application Programming Interface: un logiciel qui offre des services à d'autres logiciels) permettant leur exploitation à la volée, notamment par les modèles de suivi des maladies ou des ravageurs utilisés dans les systèmes d’avertissements agricoles. La plateforme sera accompagnée d’une documentation extensive et précise quant à l’origine des données, à l’incertitude sur les données générées et aux traitements géostatistiques utilisés pour générer le réseau de stations virtuelles.

La figure  suivante schématise l’architecture fonctionnelle de la plateforme :

 

Résultats attendus

  • Une plateforme opérationnelle de diffusion de données agro-météorologiques;
  • Deux outils d’aide à la décision opérationnels implémentés sur la plateforme.

Premiers résultats obtenus

  • Recherche : première version fonctionnelle d’une méthode de spatialisation des données horaires de température basée sur une régression linéaire multiple;
  • IT : infrastructure informatique opérationnelle basée sur des logiciels libres dont Linux, Python, Django et PostgreSQL;
  • 2 OAD céréales opérationnels : CéciBlé (Suivi de la cécidomyie orange du blé) et PhénoBlé (Suivi du développement phénologique du froment);
  • Site web en cours de développement.

Partenaires

  • Institut Royal Météorologique : Christian Tricot, Michel Journée;
  • Gembloux Agro-bio Tech : Benjamin Dumont;
  • UCLouvain : Patrick Bogaert;
  • PCA : Pieter Vanhaverbeke.

Financement

  • CRA-W - apport loi Moerman

Equipe

Partagez cet article