GéoCAN

geocan tractor

In view of the rising price of fuel coupled with increasing mechanisation of Wallonia’s agriculture, sector players regard reducing fuel consumption as a key lever in maintaining margins and competitiveness while at the same time heeding environmental considerations. The heterogeneousness and inherent complexity of agriculture make any study of fuel consumption very complicated. Furthermore, the scant regard paid to energy within the sector has resulted in deficient knowledge of this factor and failure to question the status quo. Researchers and advisors are short of technical answers to provide effective support to the region’s agriculture. This project sets out to convert tractors into laboratories and data gathering tools with the aid of technological progress, namely CAN bus and GPS. Analysis of the data collected will make it possible to meet the sector’s expectations, such as characterising consumption at different levels (farm, machinery combinations, etc.), and to produce suitable effective strategies for cutting fuel consumption.

Context

Optimising the use of agricultural machinery is a major line of research for CRA-W’s U8. The numerous trials carried out in the field and at the laboratory (on the standardised tractor test bench, in particular) have produced considerable know-how. The unit has worked in particular on two projects (Efficient 20 and Optenerges) aimed at reducing the energy consumption of some pilot groups of farmers. The influence of the fuel factor on their activities was found to be a growing concern. On the other hand, the results currently available for fuel consumption do not readily transfer to agriculture in their present state.

This project therefore aims to provide targeted answers and to help optimise fuel use in Wallonia’s agricultural mechanisation in order to meet Europe’s energy targets by trialling a system for monitoring and analysing fuel as an input.

According to initial estimates from the Efficient20 project, it should be possible to reduce agricultural tractors’ fuel consumption by about 20% by adopting an appropriate driving style. However, the small amount of research that has been done into consumption looks at a limited number of parameters and the results are rarely comparable. Most of the tractor work to date has not yet been studied.

The boom in CAN bus (Controller Area Network) technology and its standardisation on medium to high power tractors provides a substantial data pool on consumption and the influencing parameters. However, it has not yet been developed by research.

Linking CAN bus data with GPS technology is expected to open up fresh prospects for interpretation and spatialisation. It would also enable data to be contextualised (total consumption for a given type of crop, for example, or mapping engine load over a plot of land) for more in-depth analysis.

It thus appears that technical solutions are available which when linked with ITC (Information and Communication Technology) concepts will overcome the shortcomings of previous studies.

Objectives

In view of the rising price of fuel coupled with increasing mechanisation of Wallonia’s agriculture, sector players regard reducing fuel consumption as a key lever in maintaining margins and competitiveness while at the same time heeding environmental considerations. The heterogeneousness and inherent complexity of agriculture make any study of fuel consumption very complicated. Furthermore, the scant regard paid to energy within the sector has resulted in deficient knowledge of this factor and failure to question the status quo. Researchers and advisors are short of technical answers to provide effective support to the region’s agriculture. This project sets out to convert tractors into laboratories and data gathering tools with the aid of technological progress, namely CAN bus and GPS. Analysis of the data collected will make it possible to meet the sector’s expectations, such as characterising consumption at different levels (farm, machinery combinations, etc.), and to produce suitable effective strategies for cutting fuel consumption. 

During this first two-year period the data acquisition system and the analytical protocol will be developed, calibrated and validated.

Description of tasks

WP1: Developing the state of the art

Literature reviews are still to be performed in order to develop the study of the various CAN bus TPMS. Special attention will be paid to the format, number and type of data output, their accuracy and the transmission protocol in order to assess the homogeneousness and improve the compatibility of the systems.

WP2: Indicator selection and measurement

The word ‘indicator’ covers the set of parameters that impact directly or indirectly on consumption and can be used to study its variability. 

The most relevant indicators will be inventoried on the basis of the literature by analysing the most satisfactory consumption calculation models, international references and the scientific bibliography and also on the basis of results already obtained on the CRA-W engine test bench. The technical restrictions on obtaining indicators will be supplied within WP1.

An indicator acquisition system will be developed for two modern tractors by optimising the use of the CAN bus output and adding a GPS antenna. 

The accuracy of indicator measurement will be checked and calibrated if appropriate.

The output data will be compared with measurements made using existing benchmark methods. As a practical aspect, some of the measurements will be calibrated on the test bench.

WP3: Developing the data transfer and analysis chain

Before the measurements can be used they must go through a succession of processes involving recording, transfer, storage, reading, validation and segregation. Special attention will be paid to standardising the data with a view to rolling out the system to more tractors.

Among other things, this involves developing a module for recording and transferring CAN bus output data.

The database, supplied with tractor measurements (CAN bus, sensors, GPS) and external data such as the type of farm or plot, will be built using Access architecture to enable the data to be interconnected. 

WP4: Validation of the acquisition, transfer and analytical system

The system developed will be tested in a controlled situation using two specially equipped tractors. This will involve assessing its ability to acquire indicators in contrasting situations, in tests of increasing complexity, up to actual applications on a farm. 

Expected results

The aim of the project is to look at ways of improving the energy efficiency of agricultural tractors by exploiting data generated automatically (irrespective of the activity) by on-board measuring systems and available as CAN bus output.

During this first two-year period the data acquisition system and the analytical protocol will be developed, calibrated and validated:

  • Synthesis of on-board measuring systems
  • Review of indicators impacting on consumption
  • Measurement calibration protocol
  • Recording system, database and data processing tool
  • Validation of system under controlled conditions

Contribution

CRA-W’s Farming Systems, Territories and Information Technologies Unit will apply its expertise to developing the database. Close cooperation with the Soil Fertility and Water Protection Unit, which is in charge of CRA-W’s experimental facility and the related agricultural machinery, will be ensured to enable the measuring system to be installed on the tractors and the tests and trials to be carried out.

Throughout the project exchanges of experiences will take place with the Brittany Chambers of Agriculture and Gembloux Agro Bio-Tech, who have acquired know-how in using tractors as data gathering tools.

Exchange of information with agricultural tractor importers and dealers will also form part of the project.

Funding

  • DGARNE

Team

Share this article
On the same subject

GéoCAN

geocan tracteur

Ce projet propose de transformer les tracteurs en laboratoire et en outil de récolte de données à l’aide des avancées technologiques bus CAN et GPS

Vu la hausse du carburant conjuguée à la mécanisation croissante de l’agriculture wallonne, les acteurs du monde agricole considère la diminution de la consommation de carburant comme un levier important pour maintenir les marges et la compétitivité tout en répondant aux considérations environnementales. L’hétérogénéité et la complexité propre à l’agriculture complique fortement l’étude des consommations en carburant. De plus, l’insouciance énergétique du milieu a conduit à une mauvaise connaissance de la thématique et un manque de remise en question. La recherche, les conseillers, manquent de réponses techniques pour aider l’agriculture wallonne efficacement. Ce projet propose de transformer les tracteurs en laboratoire et en outil de récolte de données à l’aide des avancées technologiques bus CAN et GPS. L’analyse de ces données permettra de répondre aux attentes du secteur, tel que la caractérisation de la consommation à différentes échelles (exploitation, chantier…) et la production de stratégies efficaces et adaptées pour diminuer la consommation.

Contexte

L’optimisation de l’utilisation des machines agricoles est un des thèmes de recherche majeur de l’U8 du CRA-W. Les nombreux essais de terrain et de laboratoire (au banc d’essai tracteur normalisé notamment) réalisés ont permis l’acquisition d’un savoir-faire important. L’unité a travaillé notamment sur deux projets (Efficient 20 et Optenerges) visant à réduire la consommation énergétique de groupes pilotes d’agriculteurs. Il en ressort que l’influence du poste carburant sur leurs activités est une préoccupation croissante. D’autre part, les résultats actuellement disponibles relatifs à la consommation sont difficilement transférables au monde agricole en l’état.

Ce projet vise donc à donner des réponses ciblées et une aide à l’optimisation de l’utilisation du carburant dans la mécanisation agricole wallonne afin de répondre aux objectifs énergétiques de l’Europe, via l’expérimentation d’un système de monitoring et d’analyse de l’intrant carburant.

Selon les premières estimations du projet Efficient20, une réduction de consommation de carburant de l’ordre de 20% est envisageable pour les tracteurs agricoles en adoptant un mode de conduite adapté. Cependant, le peu de recherches sur les consommations étudient un nombre limité de paramètres et leurs résultats sont rarement comparables. La majorité des travaux réalisés avec le tracteur n’a pas encore été étudiée.

L’explosion de la technologie « bus CAN » (Controller Area Network) et sa standardisation sur les tracteurs de moyenne à forte puissance constituent un gisement très important de données sur la consommation et les paramètres l’influençant. Cependant, elle n’a pas encore été valorisée par la recherche.

L’association des données issues du bus CAN à la technologie GPS ouvrirait de nouvelles perspectives pour leurs interprétations et leurs spatialisations. De plus elle permettrait une contextualisation des données (consommation totale relative à un type de culture donné ou encore la cartographie des efforts du moteur sur une parcelle…) permettant une analyse plus poussée.

Il semble donc qu’ils existent des solutions techniques qui, alliées à des concepts TIC (Technologies de l’Information et de la Communication), permettent de pallier aux lacunes des études précédentes.

Objectifs

Vu la hausse du carburant conjuguée à la mécanisation croissante de l’agriculture wallonne, les acteurs du monde agricole considèrent la diminution de la consommation de carburant comme un levier important pour maintenir les marges et la compétitivité tout en répondant aux considérations environnementales. L’hétérogénéité et la complexité propre à l’agriculture complique fortement l’étude des consommations en carburant. De plus, l’insouciance énergétique du milieu a conduit à une mauvaise connaissance de la thématique et un manque de remise en question. La recherche, les conseillers, manquent de réponses techniques pour aider l’agriculture wallonne efficacement. Ce projet propose de transformer les tracteurs en laboratoire et en outil de récolte de données à l’aide des avancées technologiques bus CAN et GPS. L’analyse de ces données permettra de répondre aux attentes du secteur, tel que la caractérisation de la consommation à différentes échelles (exploitation, chantier…) et la production de stratégies efficaces et adaptées pour diminuer la consommation. 

Lors de cette première biennale, le système d’acquisition des données ainsi que le protocole d’analyse seront mis au point, calibrés et validés.

Description des tâches

2014-2016

WP1: Approfondissement de l’état de l'art

Des recherches documentaires doivent encore être réalisées afin d'approfondir l’étude des différents TPMS de type bus CAN. Une attention particulière sera portée sur le format, le nombre et le type de données sortantes, leur précision et leur protocole de transmission en vue de juger de l’homogénéité et de l’amélioration de la compatibilité des systèmes.

WP2: Choix et mesure des indicateurs

Le terme "indicateur", regroupe l’ensemble des paramètres ayant un impact direct ou indirect sur la consommation et qui permettront d’en étudier la variabilité. 

Le recensement des indicateurs les plus pertinents se basera sur la littérature par l’analyse des modèles de calcul de consommation les plus satisfaisant, les références internationales en la matière et la bibliographie scientifique, mais également sur des résultats déjà obtenus au banc d'essais moteur du CRA-W. Les limitations techniques de l’obtention des indicateurs seront fournies au niveau du WP1.

Un système d'acquisition des indicateurs sera mis au point sur deux tracteurs récents via l'optimisation de l'utilisation des sorties bus CAN et l'ajout d'antenne GPS. 

La précision de la mesure des indicateurs doit être vérifiée, et le cas échéant, calibrée.

Les données sortantes seront comparées à des mesures effectuées par l’intermédiaire de méthodes de références existantes. Pratiquement, une partie des mesures seront calibrées au banc d'essai

WP3: Mise au point de la chaîne de transfert et d'analyse des informations

Avant de pouvoir utiliser les mesures, celles-ci doivent passer par plusieurs processus successifs permettant leur enregistrement, transfert, stockage, lecture, validation et ségrégation. Une attention particulière sera donnée à la standardisation des informations, afin de permettre un éventuel transfert du système sur d’autres tracteurs.

Cette tâche concerne entre autres le développement d’un module chargé de l’enregistrement et du transfert des données sortantes du bus CAN.

La base de données, alimentée par les mesures du tracteur (bus CAN, capteurs, GPS) et les informations extérieures telles que le type d’exploitation ou le parcellaire, sera construite selon une architecture de type Access qui permettra de relier les données entre elles. 

WP4: Validation du système d'acquisition, de transfert et d'analyse

Le système développé sera testé en situation contrôlée à partir des deux tracteurs équipés. Il s’agira d’évaluer sa capacité à acquérir les indicateurs dans des situations contrastées, pour des essais de complexité croissante, jusqu’aux applications réelles d’une exploitation. 

 217-2018

WP1: Modélisation de la ségrégation des activités

WP1.1: Détermination et caractérisation des activités principales du tracteur. WP1.2: Confrontation des modèles de ségrégations des activités aux enregistrements et essais de références, calibration et validation des modèles. WP1.3: Implémentation des modèles dans la base de données.

WP2: Passage au banc moteur à charge partiel et estimation des demandes en puissances des outils (CAN)

La confrontation des deux sources (données CAN  pour l’outil et banc moteur pour le tracteur) permettra de juger de l’adéquation tracteur/outil pour l’activité concerné.

WP3 : pour chaque activité, détermination d’un modèle de calcul des réductions possible sur base d’un enregistrement

Sur base des WP précédents, il sera possible d’attribuer une sélection de solutions d’économies pertinentes pour chaque activité. Cette sélection s’effectuera parmi la gamme des solutions connues (1ière biennale) par combinaison de trois concepts. 

  1. Diminuer la demande de puissance au maximum
  2. Augmenter le rendement de travail au maximum
  3. Ajuster l’offre de puissance du moteur au plus juste sur base du WP4

WP4 : amélioration de l’automatisation du transfert des données et ouverture à l’acquisition d’image

Le projet testera un enregistreur équipé d’une antenne 3G dont les enregistrements seront envoyés directement sur une plateforme logiciel ou un serveur. Ce même enregistreur permettra le raccordement d’une caméra de type « webcam » afin de mettre en œuvre le WP2.

 

Résultats attendus

L’objectif du projet est d’étudier les voies d’amélioration de l’efficience énergétique des tracteurs agricoles, sur base de la valorisation des données générées automatiquement (quelle que soit l'activité) par les chaînes de mesure embarquées et disponibles à la sortie des bus CAN.

2014-2016. Le système d’acquisition des données ainsi que le protocole d’analyse seront mis au point, calibrés et validés:

  • Synthèse sur les systèmes de mesures embarqués
  • Revue des indicateurs impactant la consommation
  • Protocole de calibration des mesures
  • Système d'enregistrement, base de données et outil de traitement des données
  • Validation du système en conditions contrôlées

 2017-2018. Un outil complet (matériel et logiciel) d’audit énergétique de la mécanisation agricole des exploitations wallonnes:

 

  • Modèles de ségrégation des activités
  • Outil de calcul de bilans et de comparaisons
  • Méthode de cartographie des moteurs
  • Outil d'audit énergétique de la mécanisation agricole

Contribution

Au sein du CRA-W, L’unité Systèmes agraires, Territoires et Technologies de l’information mobilisera son expertise pour la mise au point de la base de donnée. Une étroite collaboration avec l’Unité Fertilité des sols et protection des eaux, en charge du domaine expérimental du CRA-W et des machines agricoles s’y rapportant, sera organisée pour permettre l’installation du système de mesure sur les tracteurs et la réalisation des tests et essais.

La réalisation du projet nécessitera également un échange d’informations avec les importateurs et marchands de tracteurs agricoles.

 

Financement

  • SPW - DGO3 - Direction de la Recherche et du Développement

Equipe

Partagez cet article
Sur le même sujet