Stargate - TowardS an operaTionAl nitRoGen recommendation in potATo based on sEntinel-2

Following the BELCAM project, the STARGATE project aims to develop a methodology to determine the in-season potato nitrogen status using satellite images (Sentinel-2).

Context

In a context of smart farming and precision agriculture, a way to improve potato nitrogen fertilization is to split nitrogen fertilisers application and to adapt the in-season recommendation by a crop nitrogen status monitoring. Amongst other, Sentinel-2 satellites offer free imagery at an interesting spatial (ten meters) and temporal (five days) resolutions to do this monitoring at field scale.

 

Objectives

The objective of the STARGATE project is to contribute to the development of an operational in-season nitrogen recommendation tool based on Sentinel-2 data and on the nitrogen nutrition index plant-based method. The NNI method is based on the concept of the dilution curve describing the critical nitrogen concentration in the whole plant as a function of the total crop biomass.

 

The project will more specifically explore the potentialities of Sentinel-2 for retrieving crop nitrogen status (based on biomass N concentration) and the biomass production during the vegetative phase which are key parameters to compute the NNI and subsequently to provide a nitrogen recommendation. The study will rely on field data collected in the frame of the BELCAM project during 3 growing seasons (2017-2019).

 

Expected results

The main deliverable of the STARGATE project is a peer-reviewed article relative to the assessment of Sentinel 2 performances to retrieve the in-season potato crop nitrogen status and biomass. The developed methodology will be also integrated within the BELCAM web-platform.

 

Financement

  • BELSPO

Team

JPG Yannick CURNEL Viviane PLANCHON Feriel BEN ABDALLAH Dimitri GOFFART Luca RASPINI
Share this article

Projet Stargate: pour une recommandation opérationnelle en azote pour la pomme de terre sur base d'images Sentinel-2

stargate

Dans la foulée du projet BELCAM, le projet STARGATE vise à développer un méthodologie pour déterminer la statut azoté de la pomme de terre en cours de saison par l’utilisation d’image satellites issues de Sentinel-2.

Contexte

Dans un contexte de “smart farming” et d’agriculture de précision, un bon moyen pour améliorer la gestion de la fertilisation azotée en culture de pomme de terre est le fractionnement de la fertilisation azotée, suivi d’une adaptation de la quantité d’azote apportée durant le développement de la végétation, en déterminant le statut azoté de la culture. Parmi d’autres, les satellites Sentinel-2 permettent l’utilisation d’images gratuites avec des résolutions spatiale (dix mètres) et temporelle (cinq jours) très intéressantes pour réaliser un tel suivi.

 

Objectifs

L’objectif du projet STARGATE est de contribuer au développement opérationnel d’outils de recommandation azotée innovant basé sur l’utilisation de données de Sentinel-2 et de la méthode de l’indice de nutrition azotée (INN). Cette méthode est basée sur le concept de la courbe de dilution qui décrit le concentration critique en azote comme une fonction de la biomasse.

 

Le projet étudiera la capacité des images issues de Sentinel-2 pour déterminer le statut azoté de la culture de pomme de terre ainsi que sa biomasse durant la phase végétative. Ces paramètres sont essentiels pour déterminer l’INN et ensuite établir une recommandation azotée. L’étude se basera sur les données collectées dans le cadre du projet BELCAM durant 3 années consécutives (2017-2019).

 

Résultats attendus

Les résultats de l’étude portant sur les performances de Sentinel-2 pour déterminer le statut azoté et la biomasse de la pomme de terre en cours de saison seront publiés dans une revue scientifique. La méthodologie développée sera également intégrée à la plateforme BELCAM

 

Financement

  • BELSPO

Equipe

JPG Yannick CURNEL Viviane PLANCHON Feriel BEN ABDALLAH Dimitri GOFFART Luca RASPINI
Partagez cet article