Du
04 November
au
31 December 2011

VETABIO

INTERREG IV. Partner.

Context

The contribution of organic production methods to sustainable development is now confirmed. However, whereas organic production is supported by a steadily growing market, reflecting strong consumer interest, the three regions involved in this project have seen a stabilisation of the conversions since 2005. There is a widening gap between an increasingly international market and the development of organic production and sectors at regional level.
This situation presents several challenges justifying cross-border cooperation. To overcome the dispersion of producers operating in similar systems, they need to work together and pool the expertise available in the three participating areas. There are some interesting complementarities between production systems and sectors on the one hand and between the areas of expertise developed by the project partners on the other. Each region has specialities and results that may be of interest to the others.
Among the challenges, two issues need a special attention :
1) New European legislation stipulates 100% organic feed for ruminants. This requirement is intensified by an international context of (1) a shortage of organic cereals, oil plants and protein plants for use as animal feed and (2) an upturn in demand for animal products (milk and meat) in Europe. Solutions will therefore have to be provided in all three regions at once, as importing is not necessarily a sustainable option. Solutions implemented at farm level for the same product will need to be adapted to farm specific features, whereas complementarities between regions should be developed.
2) In vegetable production there is a need for growers to become more professional in order to adapt their production systems more closely to the sectors’ requirements, for both short and long agri-food chains. The cross-border region is big enough to maintain and develop the position of market garden products. However, systems need to be optimised, and a lack of coordination between growers in the three participating areas, who rarely know one another despite supplying their products to the same market, is creating a competition situation which benefits no-one.

Objectives

General aim :
Networking of producers and support organisations in the three regions to stimulate and develop expertise, experience and innovation with respect to ruminant feed and organic vegetable production issues. In the longer term, networking serves the aim of sustainably developing exchanges and complementarities between organic sectors in the cross-border area.
Special aims :
- Networking of partners’ established expertise and knowledge.
- Better understanding of the specific features of the organic systems (stock farming and vegetable growing) and the associated sectors in the three regions.
- Identifying the problems and how they arise on the different types of farm within the three participating areas.
- Comparing possible solutions proposed by producers, their supporting criteria and the factors to be considered in their assessment.
- Through exchanges between producers and technical advisors, jointly constructing innovative alternative proposals. Adapting and optimising the selected plan.
- Forming partnerships and supporting producers who are trying out these solutions at farm level. Following up field trials and defining the conditions of their development by producers in the three participating areas.
- Networking, exchanges and dissemination of available data, current experiments and results throughout the project. Networking will be organised at three levels : firstly, the project partners; secondly, the producers involved; and thirdly, all the producers and organic sectors concerned in the three participating areas.

Expected results

With regard to animal feed we aim to define the innovations under development, on dairy farms, in the three participating areas with a view to optimising on-farm production of fodder resources, particularly protein that are not degraded in the rumen. Two approaches are envisaged, on the one hand optimising fodder mixes and on the other, introducing new crops into the rotation. Networking of stock farmers and crop farmers is another expected result.

On the vegetable side, the project will improve producers’ knowledge in the three participating areas (who produces what? How, why and for which market?) and knowledge across the marketing channels (long and short, reducing the fears of unfair competition in order to gain a better understanding of the market context). Another aim will be to stimulate dynamics between producers in the three participating areas, with a view to subsequent continuation. Pooling of experiences and experiments designed and carried out in the three participating areas will maximise the likelihood of finding innovative solutions that can be transferred to the whole of the study area.

Expected cross-border impact of the project :
- Increase in the number of organic farmers and the organically farmed land in the cross-border region.
- Establishing of links between operators and improving the performance and image of organic stock farming and vegetable growing systems in the three participating areas.
- Contributing to the sustainability of conventional agriculture in the cross-border region by transferring results and practices from organic farming.

Contribution

CRA-W is mainly involved in activities on the dairy farming systems (Actions 1, 4 and 5).

Activity 1 : Networking
- For the Walloon farmers involved in the project, communication of the information so that each individual knows what other farmers in the cross-border region are doing.
- For the technical advisors involved in the project, organising exchanges of views and experiences on the progress of experiments conducted in each participating area and on the way to solve common problems.
- For all the farmers and technical advisors, in the three participating areas, arranging visits to farms and experimental and demonstration sites.

Activity 4 : Identifying organic farmers’ needs and providing cross-border support in finding sustainable solutions
The general approach is to develop and build on solutions already implemented or proposed on farms in the cross-border region. An inventory of production and consumption types and volumes will be drawn up by region and by product, along with a typology of farm structures according to their degree of fodder autonomy.

Activity 5 : Technical support for fodder products and animal feed
Supporting solutions already implemented or proposed on farms in the cross-border region and supplementing them by technical experiments at farm or experimental station level. Each farm will be regarded as a source of experience whose results can be exploited at cross-border level. A trial involving complex forage mixes is in progress at Libramont.

Partners

Flemish partners
- PCBT : Interprovinciaal Proefcentrum voor de Biologische Teelt
- PCG : Provinciaal Proefcentrum voor de Groenteteelt Oost-Vlaanderen

French partners
- GABNOR : Groupement des Agriculteurs Biologiques du Nord-Pas de Calais
- Chambre Régionale d’Agriculture Nord Pas de Calais
- PLRN : Pôle Légumes Région Nord
- FREDON : Fédération Régionale de Défense contre les Organismes Nuisibles

Walloon partners
- CEB Centre d’Essais Bio
- CARAH : Centre pour l’agronomie et l’agro-industrie de la province du Hainaut

CRAW off coordinator

Mr Sébastien Labrune et Mme Jessica Zaoui
GABNOR
Le Paradis
59133 Phalempin
France
Tel. : +33 (0)3 20 32 25 35
Fax : +33 (0)3 20 32 35 55
E-mail : sebastien.labrune@gabnor.org et jessica.zaoui@gabnor.org
www.gabnor.org 

Funding

  • CE - Regional politics - INTERREG IV
  • CRA-W - Walloon Agricultural Research Centre
  • DGARNE

Team

Daniel JAMARDidier PITTIEYves SEUTINDidier STILMANT

Du
04 Novembre
au
31 Décembre 2011

VETABIO

INTERREG IV. Partner.

Contexte

La pertinence du mode de production biologique vis-à-vis du développement durable se confirme et ne peut plus être contestée. Cependant, alors que ce mode de production est soutenu par un marché en croissance continue, attestant d’un intérêt véritable des consommateurs, les trois régions concernées par le présent projet accusent depuis 2005 une stabilisation des reconversions. L’écart se creuse entre le marché qui s’internationalise et le développement de la production et des filières bio au niveau des régions.
Dans ce contexte plusieurs défis sont à relever qui justifient une coopération transfrontalière. La dispersion des producteurs d’une même orientation impose de travailler ensemble et de regrouper les compétences présentes sur les trois versants. Des complémentarités intéressantes existent entre systèmes de production et filières ainsi qu’entre les compétences développées par les partenaires du projet : chaque région a des spécialités et des résultats qui peuvent intéresser les autres.
Parmi les défis à relever nous retenons deux problématiques prioritaires :
1) La nouvelle réglementation européenne impose une alimentation 100% biologique pour les ruminants. Cette contrainte est d’autant plus forte qu’elle vient dans un contexte international (1) de pénurie en céréales, oléagineux et protéagineux biologiques destinés à l’alimentation animale et (2) de reprise de la demande européenne en produits animaux (lait et viande). Des solutions devront donc être apportées simultanément dans les trois régions, le recours à l’importation n’étant pas nécessairement durable. Les solutions mises en œuvre à l’échelle de l’exploitation pour une même production devront être adaptées à ses spécificités alors que des complémentarités entre régions devront être développées.
2) En production légumière nous relevons le besoin de professionnalisation des producteurs en vue de mieux adapter leurs systèmes de productions aux exigences des filières, qu’elles soient de type court ou de type long. Le territoire transfrontalier forme un espace suffisant pour y maintenir et développer la position des productions maraîchères. Cependant les systèmes doivent êtres optimalisés et le manque de coordination entre producteurs des différents versants, qui se connaissent peu mais livrent leurs légumes sur le même marché, engendre une situation de concurrence qui n’est profitable à aucune des régions.

Objectifs

Objectif général :
Mise en réseau des producteurs et des organismes techniques des trois régions pour dynamiser et valoriser les compétences, les expériences et les innovations autour des problématiques de l’alimentation des ruminants et des productions légumières bio. A plus long terme, cette mise en réseau s’inscrit dans l’objectif de développer durablement les échanges et les complémentarités entre filières bio liées au territoire transfrontalier.

Objectifs particuliers :
- Mettre en réseau les compétences et les connaissances existantes des partenaires.
- Mieux connaître les spécificités des systèmes biologiques (élevage et légumes) et des filières qui y sont associées dans les trois régions.
- Identifier les problèmes et comment ils se posent dans les différents types d’exploitations présents sur les trois versants.
- Comparer les pistes de solutions envisagées par les producteurs, les paramètres qui les justifient et qui sont à prendre en compte pour les évaluer.
- Par des échanges entre producteurs et techniciens, construire collectivement des propositions alternatives innovantes. Adapter et optimiser les schémas retenus.
- Etablir des partenariats et accompagner des producteurs dans la mise en expérience de ces solutions à l’échelle de l’exploitation. Assurer un suivi de ces expérimentations et les conditions de leur valorisation auprès des producteurs des trois versants.
- Pendant toute la durée du projet, assurer la mise en réseau, les échanges et la diffusion des données existantes, des expériences en cours et des résultats obtenus. Cette mise en réseau se fera à trois niveaux : au niveau des partenaires du projet, au niveau des producteurs impliqués et au niveau de l’ensemble des producteurs et des filières bio concernés sur les trois territoires.

Résultats attendus

En matière d’alimentation animale, nous visons à mieux cerner les innovations en cours dans les exploitations laitières des trois versants dans le but d’optimiser l’autoproduction des ressources fourragères de la ferme, en particulier en ce qui concerne la protéine. Deux voies sont envisagées, d’une part l’optimisation des mélanges fourragés et d’autre part l’introduction de nouvelles cultures dans la rotation. La mise en réseau des éleveurs et des polyculteurs est également un des résultats attendus.

En matière de légumes, ce projet apportera une meilleure connaissance entre les producteurs des trois versants (qui produit quoi, comment, quand et pour quel marché ?) et entre les circuits de commercialisation (long et court, atténuer les craintes de concurrence déloyale pour mieux connaître le contexte dans lequel on opère). On visera également à initier des dynamiques entre producteurs des trois versants qui pourraient trouver des formes de pérennisation par la suite. La mise en commun des expériences et des expérimentations, conçues et mises en œuvre dans les trois versants, maximise la possibilité d’aboutir à des solutions innovantes transposables sur l’ensemble de la zone d’étude.

Effets transfrontaliers induits qui sont attendus :
- Augmentation du nombre d’agriculteurs et des surfaces bio dans la région transfrontalière.
- Etablir des liens entre opérateurs en améliorant les performances et l’image des systèmes bio élevage et légumes des trois versants.
- Contribuer à la durabilité de l’ensemble de l’agriculture de la région transfrontalière par le transfert des résultats et des pratiques mises en œuvre en agriculture biologique.

Contribution

Le CRA-W est principalement impliqué dans les actions concernant le volet élevage.

Action 1 Mise en réseau
- pour les agriculteurs impliqués dans le projet (partenariats établis par versant), assurer la circulation de l’information de manière à ce que chacun soit au fait de ce qui se passe chez les autres agriculteurs de la région transfrontalière.
- pour les techniciens impliqués dans le projet, organiser des échanges sur l’évolution des expérimentations menées sur chacun des versants et la résolution de problèmes communs aux trois versants.
- pour l’ensemble des agriculteurs et des techniciens des trois versants, organiser des visites de fermes et d’essais expérimentaux ainsi que des démonstrations.

Action 4 : Identification des besoins des éleveurs biologiques et appui transfrontalier dans la recherche de réponses durables
La démarche générale est de valoriser et capitaliser les solutions déjà mises en œuvre ou en projet dans les fermes de la région transfrontalière.

Action 5 : Appui technique en productions fourragères et alimentation animale
Accompagner les solutions déjà mises en œuvre ou en projet dans les fermes de la région transfrontalière et les compléter par des expérimentations techniques à l’échelle de l’exploitation, ou de station expérimentale. Chaque exploitation sera considérée comme une source d’expérience, dont les résultats peuvent être valorisés de manière transfrontalière. Un essai est en cours à Libramont concernant les mélanges fourragers complexes.

Partenaires

Partenaires flamands
- PCBT : Interprovinciaal Proefcentrum voor de Biologische Teelt
- PCG : Provinciaal Proefcentrum voor de Groenteteelt Oost-Vlaanderen

Partenaires français
- GABNOR : Groupement des Agriculteurs Biologiques du Nord-Pas de Calais
- Chambre Régionale d’Agriculture Nord Pas de Calais
- PLRN : Pôle Légumes Région Nord
- FREDON : Fédération Régionale de Défense contre les Organismes Nuisibles

Partenaires wallons
- CEB Centre d’Essais Bio
- CARAH : Centre pour l’agronomie et l’agro-industrie de la province du Hainaut

Coordinateur hors CRA-W

Mr Sébastien Labrune et Mme Jessica Zaoui
GABNOR
Le Paradis
59133 Phalempin
France
Tel. : +33 (0)3 20 32 25 35
Fax : +33 (0)3 20 32 35 55
E-mail : sebastien.labrune@gabnor.org et jessica.zaoui@gabnor.org
www.gabnor.org 

Financement

  • CE - Politique régionale - INTERREG IV
  • CRA-W - Centre wallon de Recherches agronomiques
  • SPW - DGARNE

Equipe

Daniel JAMARDidier PITTIEYves SEUTINDidier STILMANT