• Follow us

Du
01 December 2016
au
28 February 2021

BeetPhen

fiche taches img 13817 2017 06 01 picturewebsite1

Sugar beet phenotyping in breeding trials using UAV

Context

Sugarbeet field phenotyping with high accuracy and reliability for assessment of resistant sugarbeet to biotic stresses is required but lacking. The small dimensions of breeding trial plots and the need for frequent revisits hamper the use of airborne images, especially with UAVs, able to deliver assessments at a very high spatial resolution pixel size with a very flexible temporal resolution. High-resolution hyperspectral remote sensing imagery is described to be appropriate to produce optical indices related to the crops health status.

Objectives

This project aims at applying the UAVs potential for the quantitative assessment of a specific plant disease within breeding trial plots.

Description of tasks

Disease symptoms have been assessed during two successive years through several specific artificially inoculated breeding trials. Inoculated trials have been compared to non-inoculated ones in a replicated plots experimental design. Selected varieties showed a gradient of sensitivity to the disease. In situ visual observations (disease symptoms quantification) have been performed several times after crop inoculation. In the meantime UAV images (with embedded RGB, multispectral and hyperspectral imaging sensors) and similar ground-based spectral information have been acquired.

Obtained results

This project made it possible to deliver a rapid operator-independent tool to assess in a standardized way diseases at the breeding trial plot level.

The specific scientific results obtained are:

- Possibility of defining 2 groups of powdery mildew infection from models developed or indices calculated on spectral data acquired in the field, on the ground, using portable fluorimetry and spectroscopy instruments;

- Possibility of identifying 3 to 4 groups of sensitivity to powdery mildew from models developed or indices calculated on spectral data acquired under controlled conditions, in greenhouses, using portable instruments or hyperspectral imaging cameras  mounted on ground platforms;

- Possibility of defining 2 groups of powdery mildew infection from models developed or indices calculated on spectral data acquired in the field, in remote sensing, using hyperspectral imaging cameras mounted on UAV.

Each platform has its advantages and disadvantages depending on the experimental conditions. Compared to visual observations or field measurements, image captures by drone are however much faster and measurements more precise and homogeneous.

The potential users are breeding companies and institutions, companies involved in fungicide treatment screening (at field level) or in disease/fungicide application forecast, agricultural research centres, crop phenotyping companies, agricultural UAV companies, agricultural remote sensing sector, agricultural sensor and robotics companies.

Contribution

This project is coordinated by SESVanderHave (SV). SV presents important field trial potentialities and has also large experience in the follow up and assessment of in situ sugar beet breeding field trials. SV provided its sugar beet field trials and its breeder expertise in variety and disease assessment. These expertizes were useful to lead the study and to collect field observations on the disease as reference data for the study.

The expertise of VITO for UAV (equipment, flights, pre-processing and processing) and hyperspectral plant stress detection were used to acquire, process and analyse images over the trials.

The expertise of CRA-W in ground-based multispectral and near infrared (NIR) hyperspectral applications as well as in chemometrics provided support in the use of hand-held/embedded field devices to validate the acquired spectral information in relation with the visual observations.

Partners

SESVANDERHAVE N.V./S.A. | Industriepark, Soldatenplein Z2, 15 3300 Tienen, Belgium

Vlaamse Instelling voor Technologisch Onderzoek (VITO); Boeretang 200, 2400 Mol, Belgium

CRAW off coordinator

Olivier Amand, Biotic Stress Manager, Tienen (SESVanderhave)

Funding

Team

Share this article

• Suivez-nous

Du
01 Décembre 2016
au
28 Février 2021

Beetphen

fiche taches img 13818 2017 06 01 picturewebsite

Phenotypage de la betterave sucrière en essais de sélection par drone

Contexte

Afin d’évaluer les variétés de betteraves sucrières résistantes aux maladies, le phénotypage au champ demande une grande précision et une bonne fiabilité. Les petites dimensions des parcelles d'essai et le besoin de passages fréquents empêchent l'utilisation d'images aériennes. Par contre les images acquises avec des drones permettent de fournir des évaluations à une résolution spatiale très élevée avec une résolution temporelle très flexible. L'imagerie de télédétection hyperspectrale à haute résolution est décrite comme une technique appropriée pour produire des indices spectraux liés à l'état de santé des cultures.

Objectifs

Ce projet vise à utiliser le potentiel des drones pour l'évaluation quantitative d'une maladie foliaire spécifique dans des parcelles expérimentales.

Description des tâches

Les symptômes de la maladie étudiée ont été évalués au cours de deux années consécutives sur plusieurs essais de sélection inoculés artificiellement et sur plusieurs variétés présentant un gradient de sensibilité à la maladie. Les essais inoculés ont été comparés aux essais non inoculés mis en place suivant un plan expérimental à plusieurs répétitions. Les observations visuelles in situ (quantification des symptômes de la maladie) ont été effectuées plusieurs fois après l'inoculation des essais tout au long de la période de développement de la betterave. En parallèle, des images aériennes (avec des capteurs  d’images RGB, multispectrales et hyperspectrales embarqués sur drone) et des données spectrales similaires au sol ont été acquises. Une 3ème année d'expérimentation sur un essai classique de suivi des nouveaux génotypes pour leur sensibilité/résistance à l'oïdium a permis de valider les modèles développés.

Résultats obtenus

Ce projet a permis de développer un outil rapide et indépendant de l'opérateur pour évaluer de manière standardisée une maladie foliaire sur betterave sucrière à l’échelle de la parcelle d’essai.

Les résultats scientifiques spécifiques obtenus sont :

- Possibilité de définir 2 groupes d'infection à l'oidium à partir des modèles développés ou des indices calculés sur des données spectrales acquises en champ, au sol, à l'aide d'instruments portables de fluorimétrie et de spectroscopie;

- Possibilité d'identifier 3 à 4 groupes de sensibilité à l'oidium à partir des modèles développés ou des indices calculés sur des données spectrales acquises en conditions contrôlées, en serre, à l'aide d'instruments portables ou des caméras d'imagerie hyperspectrale montées sur des plateformes au sol;

- Possibilité de définir 2 groupes d'infection à l'oidium à partir des modèles développés ou des indices calculés sur des données spectrales acquises en champ, en télédétection, à l'aide de caméras d'imagerie hyperspectrale montées sur des drônes.

Chaque plateforme comporte ses avantages et inconvénients en fonction des conditions d'expérimentation. Par rapport aux observations visuelles ou aux mesures de terrain, les captures d'images par drône sont toutefois beaucoup plus rapides et les mesures plus précises et homogènes.

Les utilisateurs potentiels sont des sociétés de sélection végétale, des entreprises impliquées dans l’évaluation des traitements fongicides (à l’échelle du champ), des centres de recherche agricole, des sociétés de phénotypage de cultures, des sociétés de drones agricoles et du secteur de la télédétection agricole, des compagnies de développement de capteurs et de robotique agricole.

Contribution

Ce projet a été coordonné par SESVanderHave (SV). SV dispose d'importantes potentialités d'essais au champ et possède également une grande expérience dans le suivi et l'évaluation des essais en sélection de betteraves sucrières. SV met à disposition ses essais en champ de betteraves sucrières et son expertise en matière d'évaluation des variétés et des maladies. Ces expériences ont été utiles pour mener l'étude et pour collecter les observations de terrain sur la maladie qui ont servi de données de référence pour l'étude.

L'expertise de VITO en drones (équipements, vols, prétraitement et traitement d’images) et en détection des symptômes de maladie foliaire a été exploitée pour acquérir, traiter et analyser les images des essais.

L'expertise du CRA-W en applications multispectrales et hyperspectrales proche infrarouge au sol ainsi qu’en chimiométrie a fourni un support dans l'utilisation d’instruments de terrain portables et embarqués pour valider l'information spectrale acquise en relation avec les observations visuelles.

Partenaires

SESVANDERHAVE N.V./S.A. | Industriepark, Soldatenplein Z2, 15 3300 Tienen, Belgium

Vlaamse Instelling voor Technologisch Onderzoek (VITO); Boeretang 200, 2400 Mol, Belgium

Coordinateur hors CRA-W

Olivier Amand, Biotic Stress Manager, Tienen (SESVanderhave)

Financement

Equipe

Jean-Pierre GOFFART Vincent BAETEN Juan Antonio FERNANDEZ PIERNA Philippe VERMEULEN Yannick CURNEL Benoît SCAUT Stéphane BRICHARD Feriel BEN ABDALLAH Damien VINCKE Lisa PLASMAN François STEVENS
Partagez cet article

A lire aussi

Projets
Portique1
SVG

Damien VINCKE
VINCKE
Projets
INVITE
SVG

Philippe VERMEULEN
VERMEULEN